It is currently Wed May 01, 2024 10:35 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2006 10:53 pm 

discounted to ?5.09 Somerfield
(?6.99 list)

Hmm ... a rich and bright purple colour, faded and red at the rim. Distinctive sweet and confected Shiraz nose, but not particularly intense or powerful. Warmth immediately hits you, but it's not full-bodied, alcoholic to taste (although only 13.5 and not 15pct). Shortish, lukewarm and barely spicy finish. Where is my chocolate?!?!

Check out Burra Brook 2003 from M&S for a better example (although I'm no Shiraz expert), however this isn't too bad considering I was craving something easy to drink on its own.

Anyone any other Shiraz suggestions for those chocolatey easy-drinking moments?

Jon

PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 12:42 am 

just did a Shiraz under ?7 tasting, to be published next week.

favourite wine as follows:

"Our favourite wine wasn?t the best Shiraz I?ve ever tasted and I wouldn?t go crazy about it, but I did go out the next day and buy quite a few bottles because it?s better than expected and was reduced by ?1.50. (until Tuesday 10th). Palandri Pinnacle Shiraz has good presentation, being slick, shiny and black and is normally ?5.99 from Waitrose and Somerfield. The smell makes you sit up and take notice because along with the usual baked dark fruits, is something fresher and greener, like green peppers, and also fresh new oak. The taste has some coffee on it and is also herbal. It has great body, sweet fruit, but a dry finish. We loved it."

?5.99 is about right and ?4.49 is a steal. worth buying 6 bottles and gettign a further 5% off.

PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 5:57 pm 

Ooo! Looking forward to next week's tasting article...

Thanks Mel.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:33 am 

Frustratingly, the system (my name for that place in the sky, where I send my articles) has been having technical probs over the weekend and in fact seems even more poorly this morning.